The Skandy Awards: Celebrating Creativity, Innovation & Entrepreneurship

The Skandalaris Center has supported and partnered with over 800 individuals through fourteen core programs this academic year. Being fortunate enough to engage such a vibrant community of talent, we wanted to create a way to celebrate them. That’s how the Skandy Awards were born.

On April 11, 2018, we threw our inaugural Skandy Awards, a celebration of all things Creative, Innovative, and Entrepreneurial from the academic year. Over drinks, hors d’oeuvres, and live jazz, we recognized this year’s competition winners and awarded our first annual Skandy Awards to nine individuals and organizations.

We were honored to have our center’s namesake, Bob Skandalaris, in attendance to help present the awards. Congratulations to all participants and honorees! We look forward to what the next year will bring!

View photos from the event on Facebook, and view all honorees below:


Skandy Award Recipients


Student of the Year in Creativity: Rob Hall, BSBA 2021

Student of the Year in Innovation: Shivani Jindal, BSBA 2020

Student of the Year in Entrepreneurship: Will Blanchard, BSBA 2018

Startup of the Year: Wabbani (Paul Dinkins and Alice Layton)

Mentor of the Year: Tracie (Gildehaus) Wolfmeyer

Partner of the Year: Harry Arader for BioGenerator Fundamentals and Grants to Business

Student Organization of the Year: Entrepreneurship and Venture Capital Association (EVCA)

Faculty Member of the Year: Allan Doctor, MD

Alumnus of the Year: Nicholas Franano, MD, MA

Rob Hall, Student of the Year in Creativity.
Photo by Jerry Naunheim Jr./WUSTL Photos


2017-2018 Honorees


Honors in Innovation and Entrepreneurship

  • Maddy Angstreich, FA ’20 Communication Design
  • Kelly Wisneski, FA ’18 Architecture and Computer Science

Honors in Entrepreneurship

  • Nick Rafferty, BU ’18 Entrepreneurship and Marketing
  • Josh Rotker, BU ’18 Marketing and Entrepreneurship
  • Theodore Flores, MPH ’18 Public Health
  • Kalin Pearce, MPH/MBA ’18 Public Health & MBA
  • Michael Kramer, BU ’18 Marketing and Entrepreneurship
  • Rebecca Resnic, AR Architecture
  • Jeff Chininis, SI ’18 Biomedical Innovation
  • Cole Donelson, MBA ’18 Entrepreneurship
  • Mrigank Kanoi, MBA ’18 Entrepreneurship
  • Andrew Lee, BU ’18 Economics & Strategy, Computer Science
  • Leah Bhambri, BU ’17 Finance, Entrepreneurship
  • Joseph Middleman, BU ’18 Finance, Entrepreneurship
  • Harini Venkitarama, MBA ’18 MBA
  • Maria Gilfoyle, BU ’18 Marketing and Entrepreneurship
  • Shannon Turner, MBA ’18 MBA
  • Chad Littrel, MBA ’18 Entrepreneurship
  • Cole West, BU ’18 Marketing and Entrepreneurship
  • Kadeem Ricketts, JD/MBA ’18 JD/MBA
  • Paul Dinkins, MBA ’18 Entrepreneurship
  • Eva Blumenfeld, A&S ’18 Psychology and Brain Sciences


Entrepreneurial Student Advisory Committee

  • Thao Cao, BSE ’20 Biomedical Engineering
  • Martin Cepeda, BSBA ’20 Marketing, Computer Science and Design
  • Jacob Finke, BA ’20 International Affairs and Chines
  • Jennifer Franklin, MBA ’19 Entrepreneurship
  • Owen Hasler, BA ’20 Film and Media Studies, Business of Entertainment, and Psychology
  • Ahmed Hassan, CS ’20 Computer Science and Applied Microeconomics
  • Michael Kramer, BSBA ’18 Marketing, Entrepreneurship, Spanish; MS ’19 Data Analytics and Statistics
  • Elaine Ma, Finance, Healthcare Management, Computer Science
  • Colin Parsons, BS ’20 Mathematics, Philosophy-Neuroscience-Psychology, Spanish
  • Henry Roseman, BSE ’21 Biomedical Engineering
  • Zach Trunsky, BSBA ’20 Finance and Political Science
  • Luke Wasynczuk, BASc ’18 Systems Engineering
  • Joanna Zhou, MSW ’18/19 Social and Economic Development


2017-2018 Competition Winners


LEAP Inventor Challenge – Summer 2017

  • Kareem Azab, BPharm, PhD (Lead Investigator), Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology; Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
  • Barbara Muz, PharmD, PhD, Senior Scientist, Department of Radiation Oncology
  • David T. Curiel, MD, PhD (Lead Investigator), Professor of Radiation Oncology and Cancer Biology, Director of the Biologic Therapeutics Center
  • Pratim Biswas, PhD, Assistant Vice Chancellor & Department Chair of the Department of Energy, Environmental and Chemical Engineering; Lucy and Stanley Lopata Professor of Environmental Engineering Science
  • Ramesh Raliya, PhD (Lead Investigator), Research Scientist, School of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Milan G. Chheda, MD (Lead Investigator), Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Oncology Division, ICCE Institute; Department of Neurology
  • Michael S. Diamond, MD, PhD (Lead Investigator), Herbert S. Gasser Professor, Departments of Medicine, Molecular Microbiology, Pathology & Immunology; Associate Director, The Andrew M. and Jane M. Bursky Center for Human Immunology and Immunotherapy Programs, Washington University School of Medicine
  • Vijay Ramani, PhD (Lead Investigator), Roma B. & Raymond H. Wittcoff Distinguished University Professor of Environment & Energy, Department of Energy, Environmental and Chemical Engineering
  • Shrihari Sankarasubramanian, PhD, Research Associate, electrochemical engineering, Department of Energy, Environmental and Chemical Engineering


LEAP Inventor Challenge – Fall 2017

  • Farshid Guilak, PhD, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery; Director of Research for The Shriners Hospitals for Children – St. Louis Shriners; Co-Director of the Center of Regenerative Medicine; appointments in the Departments of Developmental Biology and Biomedical Engineering
  • Anna N. Miller, MD, FACS, Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery; Chief of Orthopedic Trauma Service
  • Pratim Biswas, PhD, Assistant Vice Chancellor & Department Chair, Lucy & Stanley Lopata Professor, School of Engineering and Applied Science
  • John Fortner, PhD, InCEES Career Development Associate Professor, School of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Robyn S. Klein, MD, PhD, Vice Provost; Associate Dean for Graduate Education; Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences; Director, Center for Neuroimmunology & Neuroinfectious Diseases; Professor of Medicine, Pathology & Immunology, Neuroscience
  • Brian DeBosch, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Cell Biology & Physiology
  • Paul W. Hruz, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Endocrinology and Diabetes; Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Cell Biology & Physiology
  • Abraham Qavi, MD, PhD, PSTP, Clinical Pathology
  • Lan Yang, MS, PhD, Edwin H. & Florence G. Skinner Professor, School of Engineering and Applied Science


2017 Global Impact Award (GIA)


  • Erica Barnell, Chief Scientific Officer
  • Andrew Barnell, Chief Executive Officer
  • Yiming Kang, Chief Technology Officer
  • Elizabeth Wurtzler, Principal Investigator


  • David Ayeke, Lead Developer
  • Brad Gyngell, Strategy Leader
  • Ravi Sahu, Founder/CEO
  • Greg Shapiro, CFO


2017-2018 Skandalaris Center Cup

1st Place: CyberPowerd Home (Will Blanchard and Allen Nikka)

2nd Place: The Moves (Chandler Malone)


Pre-Orientation Program


  • Garrett Passamonti, BE ’21 Biomedical Engineering and Healthcare Management
  • Evan O’Connor, BSBA ’21, Finance and Philosophy
  • Michael Li, Kristian Nilsen, BE ’21, Mechanical Engineering and Communication Design
  • Albert Son, BSBA ’21, Business and Music